Proudly Queer

It’s my first pride month guys! A  lady I follow on Twitter asked guys how long they have been out for and it made me realize that I have been out for nearly a year. Well, if you think about it, I am not really out but we will not let ourselves get caught in the trappings of outness. The other thing that I have been thinking about is how long my baby dykeness will last. Is being a baby dyke centered on feeling or experience? Is there a number of women, say 69, who I have to be with in-order to graduate from baby-dykeness? What’s the other level after this? Is there a graduation ceremony? I have so many questions.

Anyway, it’s pretty exciting to be celebrating pride month. I feel like I have done anything but put up a video loudly declaring my queerness. I also haven’t put anything queer on my WhatsApp because I don’t know who might start asking questions. Because people have started. Just yesterday, someone asked if I was part of the LBGT parade and which letter I represented. I asked him why people always forget the Q, I and A. I told him I was the B…slowly moving to the L..but that’s another story in itself. Of course, like every other straight man, he brought up threesomes. Not that I blame him. Which reminds me, I told someone I was gay, then later said I was bisexual and he went like, ‘those are two different things’. I said that I used gay to mean queer like in general and he said that it was still different. I wanted to ask, “does it mean bisexual isn’t gay”? . I didn’t. I realize that people will always have an opinion of what gay/queer should and shouldn’t be. We are all entitled to our opinions so, hey!

Where was I? Pride. For me, it means a month where I can celebrate my queerness. Not that I don’t celebrate it everyday but it feels good to have 30 days solely dedicated to being queer and celebrating it. The rest of the year, it feels like I am balancing the vicissitudes of being out and being closeted. You have to be closeted so you aren’t caught and arrested. You have to be out so other queer folk can see you and know that you exist. That you are in this together. While I am loving these days of celebrating us, that doesn’t mean I am running out to the streets shouting, “I am Gay!”. I am celebrating Pride in any way I can. Sharing pictures, attending events etc.

A little history,

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month (LGBT Pride Month) is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan. The Stonewall riots were a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. In the United States the last Sunday in June was initially celebrated as “Gay Pride Day,” but the actual day was flexible. In major cities across the nation the “day” soon grew to encompass a month-long series of events. Today, celebrations include pride parades, picnics, parties, workshops, symposia and concerts, and LGBT Pride Month events attract millions of participants around the world. Memorials are held during this month for those members of the community who have been lost to hate crimes or HIV/AIDS. The purpose of the commemorative month is to recognize the impact that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals have had on history locally, nationally, and internationally.

In Kenya, we are a long way from freedom, on the wrong side of the Constitution. However, I still have hope that one day, we will be free to love.

For Pride 2017, Billboard asked various artists to write love letters to the Queer community. I really loved this one:

“It’s no exaggeration to say that thanks to you, society is becoming more just, more loving, and more compassionate. That is something we can be proud of—not just this month, but every month and every day of the year.” – Elton John

I am thinking of writing a Love Letter of my own. Just to mark this extra special month. How are you celebrating Pride, let me know.

Also: how long have you been out?

All the love and happy pride my queeps.

Leave a Reply

